• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • IWRF Partners
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
6 December 2017

Switzerland to host IWRF 2018 World Championship Qualification Tournament

Swiss Paraplegic Centre in Nottwil

Four nations will qualify for the 2018 World Championship


The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) has announced that Nottwil, Switzerland, will host the IWRF 2018 World Championship Qualification Tournament. The event will be held at the Swiss Paraplegic Centre in Nottwil from April 2 to 9, 2018.


The Qualification Tournament will bring together eight countries to determine which will qualify for the last four positions at the GIO 2018 IWRF World Championship, to be held in Sydney, Australia, from August 5 to 10, 2018.


Nottwil was selected from among several host applicants by a competitive bid process. Roger Suter, President of the Nottwil Organizing Committee, said “International Wheelchair Rugby tournaments have a long tradition in Switzerland. It is a big honor to have been awarded the right to host this important Tournament. The organizing committee and Wheelchair Sport Switzerland are looking forward to welcoming the world’s best Wheelchair Rugby players to the well-known facilities in Nottwil.”


Kathy Newman, Chair of the IWRF Competitions Committee, said “We were lucky to receive a number of excellent bids to host this event. The countries that will compete in Nottwil can be confident they will have the best possible opportunity to show why they should qualify for the World Championship.”


In addition to the host country Switzerland, invitations to the Qualification Tournament will be sent to the top-ranked countries from each IWRF Zone that have not yet qualified for the World Championship, including Brazil, Colombia, Germany, Ireland, Korea, New Zealand, and Poland. The top four teams from the Qualification Tournament will join Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Great Britain, Japan, Sweden, and the United States at the World Championship in Sydney.


About the IWRF
The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) is the governing body responsible for the sport of Wheelchair Rugby. Our mission is to grow and support the global wheelchair rugby family, with a vision to be a world leader in wheelchair sport. For more information, please visit our website at www.iwrf.com