• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
31 March 2017

Hosts selected for 2017 IWRF Americas and Asia-Oceania Championships

Three nations will qualify for the 2018 IWRF World Championship


The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) has announced the hosts for the 2017 Americas and Asia-Oceania Championships.


The 2017 IWRF Asia-Oceania Championship will be held in Auckland, New Zealand, from August 24 to September 1, 2017. This is the first time the event has been hosted in Auckland; New Zealand has hosted previous Zone Championships in Christchurch in 2001 and 2009, as well as hosting the 2006 IWRF World Championship in Christchurch. Five nations are expected in the competition, which will qualify one country for the GIO 2018 IWRF World Championship in Sydney, Australia.


The 2017 IWRF Americas Championship will be held in Asunción, Paraguay, from September 3 to 10, 2017. This is the first IWRF event hosted in Paraguay and the first time the Zonal has been held in South America since 2011. Ten nations are expected, with the top two finishers earning spots at the World Championship.


Nations that do not qualify for the World Championship from these events will have one more opportunity at the 2018 IWRF World Championship Qualifier, to be held in early 2018.


The tournament draws for both events will be published by IWRF later this year.