• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
5 December 2016

IWRF 2017 European Division A Championship announced

The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation has announced that the IWRF 2017 European Division A Championship will be held from June 24 to July 1, 2017, in Koblenz, Germany.


The European Championship will bring together the top eight teams from the IWRF European Zone.


Host country Germany will be joined by reigning European champions Great Britain, along with Denmark, France, Ireland, and Sweden, all of which finished in the top six at the 2015 Division A Championship. Rounding out the draw will be Finland and Poland, which qualified for Division A by finishing in the top two at the 2016 European  Division B Championship, held earlier this year in Nottwil, Switzerland.


The 2017 Division A Championship is a direct qualifier for the 2018 IWRF World Championship in Sydney, Australia. The top four teams from this event will be invited to Worlds. Teams finishing out of the top four will still have a chance to qualify through the World Championship Qualification Tournament, to be held in early 2018.


The tournament draw for the European Division A Championship will be held by IWRF in January 2016.


This is the first time that Germany has hosted the IWRF European Championship. Germany was one of the first countries in Europe to take up the sport of Wheelchair Rugby, and has participated in every European Championship since the first one in 1995.


The IWRF’s online Rugby Calendar will have more information and contact details on this tournament as they become available. Follow us on Twitter @IWRF