• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
5 May 2016

IWRF announces 2016 European Division B & C Championships

The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation has announced the hosts for the first two stages of the next IWRF European Championship.  


The 2016 IWRF European Championship, Division C, will be held in Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy, from June 13 to 19, 2016.


Competitors at this event will be national Wheelchair Rugby teams from Israel, Norway, Russia, and host nation Italy. The top two finishers at the Division C Championship will be invited to attend the Division B Championship later in 2016. This is the first IWRF championship to be held in Italy; it will mark the first appearance by Israel at a European Championship, as well as Norway’s first appearance at a Championship since 2005.

The 2016 IWRF European Championship, Division B, will be held in Nottwil, Switzerland, from October 3 to 10, 2016.


This event will include eight countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Finland, and Poland; host nation Switzerland; and the top two teams from the 2016 Division C Championship. The top two teams from the Division B Championship will be invited to the 2017 IWRF European Championship, Division A, which will be a qualifying event for the 2018 IWRF World Championship. Nottwil last hosted the IWRF European Championship in 2011, and was also the host of the first IWRF World Championship in 1995.

The tournament draw for the Division C Championship will be published by IWRF in May 2016. The draw for Division B will be determined after the end of the Division C event. 


For more information please email info(at)iwrf.com