• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
8 March 2012

Top 8 Teams in the World to Compete at the 2012 Canada Cup

(RICHMOND, BC) - The organizing committee for the 2012 Canada Cup Wheelchair Rugby Tournament announced today that the top eight teams in the world have been confirmed to attend.


The tournament, which will take place at the Richmond Olympic Oval from June 21st – 23rd, is the final stop for these eight teams before they meet at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.



The teams that will be competing, listed in order of world ranking, will be:


  1. United States
  2. Australia
  3. Japan
  4. Sweden
  5. Canada
  6. Great Britain
  7. Belgium
  8. France

 First Alternate Team: New Zealand


The Canada Cup promises a rematch of the 2010 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships, which broke attendance records for parasports events outside of Paralympic Games and introduced thousands of fans to the hard-hitting, gritty sport of wheelchair rugby when it was hosted at the Richmond Oval in September of 2010.  Team Canada will be looking to improve on their fifth-place finish in that event as they head towards London.


Canada Cup is hosted biannually and is the most elite wheelchair rugby event on the international calendar after the World Championships and Paralympics. As the last stop before the London 2012 Paralympics, the stakes will be particularly high this year as teams battle for the mental edge.