• Are you Wheelchair Rugby Ready?
  • The only full contact wheelchair sport in the world
  • An invasion and evasion sport...
  • Actively played in 26 countries with more in development
  • Wrecking wheelchairs around the world since 1977
  • Combines the ethos of Rugby with elements of basketball and handball
  • Don't just sit there - get in the game
  • IWRF Partners
5 December 2013

2014 Wheelchair Rugby World Championship teams announced

The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation has announced the twelve countries which have qualified for the 2014 IWRF Wheelchair Rugby World Championship, to be held August 1 to 10 in Odense, Denmark.


Qualification for the sixth IWRF World Championship began at the London 2012 Paralympic Games where Gold medalists Australia secured the first position alongside 2014 host country Denmark.


Seven additional teams qualified for the event through the 2013 Zone Championships;


Canada and the United States, from the Americas Zone Championship in Birmingham, Alabama, USA


Belgium, Germany, Great Britain, and Sweden, from the European Zone Championship in Antwerp, Belgium


Japan, from the Asia-Oceania Zone Championship in Pretoria, South Africa


The final three wild card qualification positions were assigned to Finland, France, and New Zealand.


“The World Championship is our biggest event, and it has consistently been improving both in the quality of the competition and the hosting. With these twelve teams I am certain we will have the best competition yet,” said IWRF President John Bishop. “We have a great host city and organizing committee, and I am looking forward to this event.”


This is the first time the World Championship has been hosted in Denmark; previous European hosts include Sweden in 2002 and Switzerland, which hosted the first IWRF World Championship in 1995.


Denmark has previously hosted two European Championships, and the host city for 2014, Odense, hosted a very successful test event, the Denmark Challenge, in June 2013.


The last IWRF World Championship was held in Richmond, BC, Canada, in September 2010. The top three finishers at that event were the United States, Australia, and Japan. Over the previous five Championships, the United States has won four and Canada one.


About the IWRF: The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) is the global governing body responsible for the sport of Wheelchair Rugby. Our mission is to grow and support the international wheelchair rugby family, with a vision to be a world leader in wheelchair sport. For more information about the IWRF, please visit our website at www.iwrf.com